Arthur Cotton Moore is the architect responsible for designing Rizik's iconic storefront. The boutique, located at the corner of Connecticut and L Streets in Washington DC, is an embodiment of Moore's embrace of Modernism coupled with Baroque sensibilities.
After an eight month renovation, Rizik's reopened in 2017 with a promise to deliver a contemporary designer fashion shopping experience for today's woman.
The 1950's history of Rizik's saw a transition from the founding brothers to the next generation in the person of Mike Rizik, who was shortly joined by sisters Maxine and Renee. Its reputation for quality, fashion and exquisite service followed it to Connecticut Avenue, as did its growing clientele.
The business moved in 1933 from F Street, NW to a larger location on Connecticut Avenue, NW, across from the Mayflower hotel, where it continues to operation.
During the Depression years, Rizik Brothers survived and thrived under founding brothers, Ayoub Michel and Joseph, unlike many other businesses.
Mrs. Woodrow Wilson was among the first in a long line of luminaries who patronized the store through the decades.
Rizik Brothers, as it was known when it opened its doors on F Street, NW in 1908, quickly established itself among the leading retailers of American and European fashion.
Rizik Brothers opened in 1908 at the corner of F and 15th Streets. The Rizik brothers, Ayoub Michel and Joseph, had come from Lebanon at the turn of the 20th century and established themselves as haberdashers importing lace from Europe.